Water Tips and Facts

Put a few drops of food coloring in your toilet tank. If it seeps into the toilet bowl, you have a leak. It's easy to fix, and you can save more than 600 gallons a month.

Upcoming Events

Event Date and Time Location Contact
Virginia Well Owner Network Extension AGENT Training March 1, 2021

Zoom

Erin Ling
wellwater@vt.edu
540-231-9058
Advanced VAHWQP Agent Training: Household Water Treatment with Mike Heatwole April 19, 2021 Zoom Erin Ling
wellwater@vt.edu
540-231-9058

2021 Drinking Water Clinics

Clinics run from February - November each year, and are held in about 60 counties. Visit here for a description of clinics. Contact your local Extension office to express interest in a clinic. Please pre-register with the appropriate contact person.

Please email wellwater@vt.edu with any questions, assistance finding a private lab (list available here ) or help interpreting water test results. Thank you!

Event Sample collection date Contact
Fluvanna

February 24, 2021

Kim Mayo
434-591-1950
kmayo@vt.edu

Louisa

February 24, 2021

Crysti Hopkins
540-967-3401
hcrysti2@vt.edu

Chesapeake

March 24, 2021

Watson Lawrence
757-382-6348
malawre3@vt.edu

Suffolk March 24, 2021

Elizabeth Pittman
757-514-4337
Elizp16@vt.edu

Isle of Wight March 24, 2021

Livvy Preisser
757-365-6261
Livvy16@vt.edu

Surry March 24, 2021

Tye Blount
757-294-5215
Tye91@vt.edu

Prince William March 31, 2021

Natali Walker
703-792-4037
nwalker@pwcgov.org

Prince Edward March 31, 2021

Jake Morgan
434-392-4246 ext. 203
jake78@vt.edu

Essex
King William
King and Queen

April 14, 2021

Christina Ruszczyk-Murray
804-769-4955
crmurray@vt.edu

Robbie Longest
804-443-3551
robbiel7@vt.edu

Carroll April 21, 2021


Steve Pottorff
276-730-3113
pottorff@vt.edu

Jonette Mungo
276-730-3110
Jonetm4@vt.edu

Grayson April 21, 2021

Kevin Spurlin
276-773-2491
spurlink@vt.edu

Patrick April 21, 2021

Terri Alt
276-693-2053
talt@vt.edu

Wythe April 21, 2021

Sandy Stoneman
276-223-6043
sandyst@vt.edu

Montgomery April 28, 2021

Erin Ling
wellwater@vt.edu
540-231-9058

Craig April 28, 2021

Sally Farrell
540-864-5812
sfarrell@vt.edu

Loudoun May 5, 2021

Stuart Vermaak
703-771-5838
svermaak@vt.edu

Roanoke May 19, 2021

Kim Butterfield
540-772-7524
mskimb8@vt.edu

Botetourt May 19, 2021

Kate Lawrence
540-473-8260
MCL87@vt.edu

Floyd May 19, 2021

Dawn Barnes
540-745-9307
lbarnes@vt.edu

Giles May 19, 2021

Jeannie Dudding
540-921-3455
jdudding@vt.edu

Albemarle May 26, 2021

Carrie Swanson
434-872-4580
cswanson@vt.edu

Henrico June 16, 2021

Ed Olson
804-501-5160
edo@vt.edu

Hanover June 16, 2021

Laura Maxey-Nay
lmaxey-nay@vt.edu
804-752-4310

Augusta June 23, 2021

John Benner
540-245-5750
benner89@vt.edu

Rockingham June 23, 2021

Jason Cooper
540-564-3080
jbcooper@vt.edu

Rockbridge June 23, 2021

Doug Horn
540-245-5750
doughorn@vt.edu

Gloucester
Mathews
Middlesex

June 30, 2021

Glenn Sturm
804-693-2602
gjsturm@vt.edu

Accomack July 14, 2021 Theresa Pittman
757-787-1361 x 14
tpittman@vt.edu
Northampton July 14, 2021 Ursula Deitch
757-678-7946 x 25
utankard@vt.edu

Fredericksburg
Stafford

August 11, 2021

Mikel Manchester
540-658-8000 ext. 1054
mamanchester@vt.edu

Amelia

August 11, 2021

Jane Henderson
johns59@vt.edu
804-561-2481

Chesterfield August 11, 2021

Sierra Seekford
seekfords@chesterfield.gov
804-751-4401

Spotsylvania August 11, 2021

Kayleigh Mize
540-507-7571
mizekj@vt.edu

Franklin August 18, 2021

Cynthia Martel
540-483-5161
cmartel@vt.edu

Henry August 18, 2021

Melanie Barrow
276-634-4650
mwbarrow@vt.edu

Pittsylvania August 18, 2021

Carol Haynes
haynes04@vt.edu
540-483-5161

Bland August 18, 2021

Hunter Romano
romano@vt.edu
276-688-3542

Roanoke August 18, 2021

Kim Butterfield
540-772-7524
mskimb8@vt.edu

Fairfax September 15, 2021

Katie Strong
kstrong@vt.edu
703-324-5369

Buckingham September 22, 2021

Jen Ligon
434-969-4261
jligon@vt.edu

Cumberland September 22, 2021

Amber Taylor
(804) 492-4390 ext. 4000
aamber@vt.edu

Goochland September 22, 2021

Bob Whitehead
whitehd5@vt.edu
804-556-5868

Powhatan September 22, 2021

Rachel Henley
rgrosse@vt.edu
804-556-5872

Lancaster October 6, 2021

Trent Jones
jonesrt@vt.edu
804-462-5780

Northumberland October 6, 2021

Trent Jones
jonesrt@vt.edu
804-580-5694

Westmoreland October 6, 2021

Stephanie Romelczyk
sromelcz@vt.edu
804-493-8924

Richmond County October 6, 2021

Wendy Herdman
wherdman@vt.edu
804-333-3420

Madison

Orange

Greene
October 13, 2021

Clare Lillard
lclare4@vt.edu
540-672-1361

Loudoun October 20, 2021 Stuart Vermaak
703-771-5838
svermaak@vt.edu

Clarke
Page

October 20, 2021

Vanessa Santiago
(540) 665-5699 
vsantiago@vt.edu 

Frederick
Shenandoah
Warren

October 27, 2021 Vanessa Santiago
(540) 665-5699 
vsantiago@vt.edu 

Prince George

November 3, 2021

Scott Reiter
jreiter@vt.edu
804-733-2686

Dinwiddie November 3, 2021

Mike Parrish
mparrish@vt.edu
804-469-4514

Greensville/Emporia

November 3, 2021

Sara Rutherford
sriggan@vt.edu
434-348-4223

Brunswick November 3, 2021

Cynthia Gregg
clgregg@vt.edu
434-848-2151

Wise November 17, 2021

Phil Meeks
pmeeks@vt.edu
276-328-6194

Bath
Highland

November 17, 2021

Berkeley Clark
540-468-2225 
berkeleylc@vt.edu

Pulaski November 17, 2021 Morgan Paulette
540-980-7761 
paulette@vt.edu

Contact us today to register!

If you are a person with a disability and desire any assistive devices, services or other accommodations to participate in any of these activities, please contact the individual listed above, or Erin Ling at 540-231-9058, or TDD* during business hours of 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. to discuss accommodations 5 days prior to the event.

*TDD number is (800) 828-1120