Water Tips and Facts

It takes about 6 gallons of water to grow a single serving of lettuce. More than 2,600 gallons is required to produce a single serving of steak.

Upcoming Events

Event Date and Time Location Contact
Virginia Well Owner Network AGENT Training February 26, 2019

Albemarle County Office Bldg
Room A 1600 5th St Ext.
Charlottesville, VA

Erin Ling
wellwater@vt.edu
540-231-9058

2019 Drinking Water Clinics

Clinics run from February - November each year, and are held in about 60 counties. Visit here for a description of clinics. Contact your local Extension office to express interest in a clinic. Please pre-register with the appropriate contact person.

Event Sample collection date Contact

Fluvanna

February 27

Kim Mayo
kmayo@vt.edu
434-591-1950

Suffolk
Chesapeake
March 20 Watson Lawrence
malawre3@vt.edu
757-382-6348
Virginia Beach
March 20 Andrea Davis
ADavis@vbgov.com
757-385-4769
Prince William March 27 Thomas Bolles
tpbolles@vt.edu
703-792-4037
Montgomery April 10 Kelli Scott
kescott1@vt.edu
540-382-5790


Erin Ling
wellwater@vt.edu
540-231-9058

Floyd April 10 Dawn Barnes
lbarnes@vt.edu
540-745-9307
Grayson April 17 Kevin Spurlin
spurlink@vt.edu
276-773-2491

Carroll April 17 Steve Pottorff
pottorff@vt.edu
276-730-3110
Patrick April 17 Travis Bunn
tbunn@vt.edu
276-694-3341
Loudoun April 24 Stuart Vermaak
svermaak@vt.edu
703-737-8978
Gloucester
Middlesex
Mathews
May 8 Glenn Sturm
gjsturm@vt.edu
804-693-2602
Essex
King William
King and Queen
May 8 Robbie Longest
robbiel7@vt.edu
804-443- 3551
Roanoke May 15 Kim Butterfield
mskimb8@exchange.vt.edu
540-772-7524
Botetourt May 15 Kate Lawrence
mcl87@vt.edu
540-473-8260

Pulaski May 15 Morgan Paulette
paulette@vt.edu
540-980-7761
Albemarle May 22 Carrie Swanson
horse@vt.edu
434-872-4579
Nelson May 22 Lucinda MacRae
lmacrae@vt.edu
434-263-7180
Giles
Bland
May 29 Jeannie Dudding
jdudding@vt.edu
540-921-3455 (Giles)
276-688-3542 (Bland)
Henrico June 5 Ed Olson
edo@vt.edu
804-501-5160
Hanover June 5 Laura Maxey-Nay
lmaxey-nay@vt.edu
804-752-4310
Rockingham June 12 Cristin Sprenger
cristinc@vt.edu
540-564-3080
Augusta June 12 John Benner
benner89@vt.edu
540-245-5750
Rockbridge
Bath
Highland
June 19 Doug Horn
doughorn@vt.edu
540-564-3080
Louisa June 19 Crysti Hopkins
hcrysti2@vt.edu
540-967-3401
Prince George June 26 Scott Reiter
jreiter@vt.edu
804-733-2686

Dinwiddie June 26 Mike Parrish
mparrish@vt.edu
804-469-4514
Greensville/Emporia June 26 Sara Rutherford
sriggan@vt.edu
434-348-4223

Brunswick June 26 Cynthia Gregg
clgregg@vt.edu
434-848-2151
Accomack
August 7
Theresa Pittman
tpittman@vt.edu
757-787-1361 (x. 14)

Northampton August 7 Ursula Deitch
utankard@vt.edu
757-678-7946 (x. 25)
Caroline August 14 Mike Broaddus
broaddus@vt.edu
804-633-6550
King George August 14 Mike Broaddus
broaddus@vt.edu
540-775-3062
Spotsylvania August 14 April Payne
arpayne@vt.edu
540-507-7570
Stafford August 14 Guy Mussey
gmussey@vt.edu
540-658-8000
Isle of Wight August 21 Livvy Preisser
livvy16@vt.edu
757-365-6261
Franklin August 21 Cynthia Martel
cmartel@vt.edu
540-483-5161

Henry August 21 Melanie Barrow
mwbarrow@vt.edu
276-634-4650
Wise August 28 Phil Meeks
pmeeks@vt.edu
276-328-6194
Lee August 28 Amy Fannon
afannon@vt.edu
276-546-2057
Dickenson August 28 Brad Mullins
wmullins@vt.edu
276-926-4605
Buchanan August 28 Sandy Shortridge
sshortri@vt.edu
276-935-5573
Amelia September 4 Laura Siegle
laurab08@vt.edu
804-561-2481
Chesterfield September 4 Sierra Athey
atheys@chesterfield.gov
804-751-4401
Cumberland September 4 Amber Anderson
aamber@vt.edu
804-492-4390
Buckingham September 4 Jen Ligon
jligon@vt.edu
434-969-4261
Fairfax September 18 Adria Bordas
abordas@vt.edu
703-324-5369
Goochland September 25 Bob Whitehead
whitehd5@vt.edu
804-556-5868
Powhatan September 25 Rachel Henley
rgrosse@vt.edu
804-556-5872
Madison October 16 Brad Jarvis
bjarvis@vt.edu
540-948-6881
Orange October 16 Clare Lillard
lclare4@vt.edu
540-672-1361
Greene October 16 Sarah Weaver-Sharpe
seweaver@vt.edu
434-985-5236

Contact us today to register!

If you are a person with a disability and desire any assistive devices, services or other accommodations to participate in any of these activities, please contact the individual listed above, or Erin Ling at 540-231-9058, or TDD* during business hours of 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. to discuss accommodations 5 days prior to the event.

*TDD number is (800) 828-1120