Water Tips and Facts

On a global average, most freshwater withdrawls are used for agriculture, while industry accounts for 23% and municipal use (drinking water, bathing and cleaning, and watering plants and grass) just 8%.

Upcoming Events

Event Date and Time Location Contact
Virginia Well Owner Network Extension AGENT Training

Monday Feb 14 9-11 am

Tuesday Feb 15 9-11 am

Tuesday Feb 22 9-11 am

Zoom

Erin Ling
wellwater@vt.edu
540-231-9058

2022 Drinking Water Clinics

Clinics run from February - November each year, and are held in about 60 counties. Visit here for a description of clinics. Contact your local Extension office to express interest in a clinic. Please pre-register with the appropriate contact person.

Please email wellwater@vt.edu with any questions, assistance finding a private lab (list available here ) or help interpreting water test results. Thank you!

Event Sample collection date Contact
Fluvanna

February 23

Rick Hernandez
enrique@vt.edu
434-591-1950
Montgomery March 16 Erin Ling
wellwater@vt.edu
540-231-9058
Floyd March 16 Dawn Barnes
lbarnes@vt.edu
540-745-9307
Patrick March 16 Christian Taylor
cmt26@vt.edu
276-694-3341
Suffolk March 23 Elizabeth Pittman
Elizp16@vt.edu
757-514-4337
Chesapeake March 23 Michael Andruczyk
mikeand@vt.edu
757-382-6348
Isle of Wight March 23 Livvy Preisser
livvy16@vt.edu
757-365-6261
Virginia Beach March 23 Andrea Davis
awise@vt.edu
757-385-8157
Loudoun (1) April 6 Stuart Vermaak
svermaak@vt.edu
703-771-5838
Click here to register
Prince William April 13 Natali Walker
nwalker@pwcgov.org
703-792-4037
Surry April 20 Tye Blount
tye91@vt.edu
757-294-5215
Sussex April 20 Breyon Pierce
breyonp@vt.edu
804-834-1309
Mecklenburg April 20 Amy Hawkins
amoore04@vt.edu
434-738-6191 ext. 4371
Lunenburg April 20 Amy Hawkins
amoore04@vt.edu
434-738-6191 ext. 4371
Nottoway April 20 Terry Abston
tabston@vt.edu
434-645-9315
Albemarle May 4 Carrie Swanson
horse@vt.edu
434-872-4580
Grayson May 11 Kevin Spurlin
spurlink@vt.edu
276-773-2491
Carroll May 11 Steve Pottorff
pottorff@vt.edu
276-730-3113
Wythe May 11 Sandy Stoneman
sandyst@vt.edu
276-223-6043
Giles May 11 Jeannie Dudding
jdudding@vt.edu
540-921-3455
Roanoke May 25 Shawn Jadrnicek
shawnj@vt.edu
540-772-7524
Botetourt May 25 Kate Lawrence
mcl87@vt.edu
540-473-8260
Allegheny May 25 Christine Hodges
chodges1@vt.edu
540-862-0413
Craig May 25 Sally Farrell
sfarrell@vt.edu
540-864-5812
Henrico June 8 Ed Olsen
edo@vt.edu
804-501-5160
Hanover June 8 Laura Maxey-Nay
lmaxey-nay@vt.edu
804-752-4310
Charlotte June 8 Joanne Jones
jojenki1@vt.edu
434-542-5884
Amherst June 15 Eric Bowen
bowen@vt.edu
434-946-9365
Appomattox June 15 Bruce Jones
brjones4@vt.edu
434-352-8244
Bedford June 15 Scott Baker
scbaker@vt.edu
540-586-7675
Campbell June 15 Todd Scott
todds08@vt.edu
434-332-9538
Lynchburg June 15 Scott Baker
scbaker@vt.edu
540-586-7675
Accomack June 28 (Note Tues afternoon collection) Theresa Pittman
tpittman@vt.edu
757-787-1361 x 14
Northampton June 28 (Note Tues afternoon collection) Ursula Deitch
utankard@vt.edu
757-678-7946 x 25
Halifax July 13 Rebekah Slabach
rslabach@vt.edu
434-476-2147
Prince Edward July 13 Erin Small
erins96@vt.edu
434-392-4246
Nelson July 13 Grace Monger
gimonger@vt.edu
434-263-7180

Gloucester

Mathews

Middlesex

August 10 Glenn Sturm
gjsturm@vt.edu
804-693-2602
Roanoke August 17 Shawn Jadrnicek
shawnj@vt.edu
540-772-7524
Franklin August 17 Cynthia Martel
cmartel@vt.edu
540-483-5161
Henry August 17 Melanie Barrow
mwbarrow@vt.edu
276-634-4650
Pittsylvania August 17 Carol Haynes
haynes04@vt.edu
540-483-5161
Bland August 17 Hunter Romano
romano@vt.edu
276-688-3542
Spotsylvania August 24 Kayleigh Mize
mizekj@vt.edu
540-507-7571
Chesterfield August 24 Sierra Seekford
asierra2@vt.edu
804-751-4401

Caroline

King George

August 24 Catherine Pitts
pudney@vt.edu
804-633-6550

Fredericksburg

Stafford

August 24 Mikel Manchester
mamanchester@vt.edu
540-658-8000
Fairfax September 14 Katie Strong
kstrong@vt.edu
703-324-5369
Goochland September 21 Bob Whitehead
whitehd5@vt.edu
804-556-5868
Powhatan September 21 Rachel Henley
rgrosse@vt.edu
804-556-5872
Amelia September 21 Jane Henderson
johns59@vt.edu
804-561-2481
Northumberland October 5 Trent Jones
jonesrt@vt.edu
804-580-5694
Richmond County October 5

Wendy Herdman
wherdman@vt.edu
804-333-3420
Interest list sign-up

Lancaster October 5 Trent Jones
jonesrt@vt.edu
804-462-5780
Westmoreland October 5

Stephanie Romelczyk
sromelcz@vt.edu
804-493-8924
Interest list sign-up

Loudoun (2) October 19

Stuart Vermaak
svermaak@vt.edu
703-771-5838
Click here to register

Culpeper October 26 Ashley Appling
ashappling@vt.edu
540-727-3435 x 355
Rappahannock October 26 Kenner Love
klove@vt.edu
540-675-3619
Fauquier October 26 Tim Ohlwiler
tohlwile@vt.edu
540-341-7950 ext. 3
Prince George November 2 Scott Reiter
jreiter@vt.edu
804-733-2686
Dinwiddie November 2 Mike Parrish
mparrish@vt.edu
804-469-4514
Greensville/Emporia November 2 Sara Rutherford
sriggan@vt.edu
434-348-4223
Wise November 9 Phil Meeks
pmeeks@vt.edu
276-328-6194
Pulaski November 9 Morgan Paulette
paulette@vt.edu
540-980-7761
Lee November 9 Amy Byington
afannon@vt.edu
276-546-2057

Contact us today to register!

If you are a person with a disability and desire any assistive devices, services or other accommodations to participate in any of these activities, please contact the individual listed above, or Erin Ling at 540-231-9058, or TDD* during business hours of 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. to discuss accommodations 5 days prior to the event.

*TDD number is (800) 828-1120