Water Tips and Facts

Eighty-three percent of those using individual wells in Virginia own their homes, and more than half are still paying their mortgage. Keeping the water supply safe is essential to protecting these families' property values.

Upcoming Events

Event Date and Time Location Contact
Virginia Well Owner Network AGENT Training February 27, 2020

Albemarle County Office Bldg
Room A
1600 5th St Ext.
Charlottesville, VA

Erin Ling
wellwater@vt.edu
540-231-9058

2020 Drinking Water Clinics

Clinics run from February - November each year, and are held in about 60 counties. Visit here for a description of clinics. Contact your local Extension office to express interest in a clinic. Please pre-register with the appropriate contact person.

Important note regarding COVID-19 (3/13/20): Following Virginia Tech President Sands' letter Wednesday, March 11 about Virginia Tech's response to COVID-19, we have postponed all VAHWQP drinking water clinics scheduled in the near future. We believe that given the limitations the university and Virginia Cooperative Extension are putting on both travel and on holding face-to-face meetings, as well as our ability (or lack thereof) to guarantee staffing of the labs on campus on any given day and the time sensitive nature of the samples we handle, this is the best option at this time. Of course we want to get back on track and providing this valuable service as soon as we are able to, so we will continue to monitor the situation will provide updates here as soon as we are able to reschedule our planned programs. Please email wellwater@vt.edu with any questions, assistance finding a private lab (list available here ) or help interpreting water test results. Thank you!

Event Sample collection date Contact

Fluvanna

February 26 Kim Mayo
kmayo@vt.edu
434-591-1950
Suffolk
Chesapeake
TBA Watson Lawrence
malawre3@vt.edu
757-382-6348
Montgomery TBA
Erin Ling
wellwater@vt.edu
540-231-9058

Floyd TBA Dawn Barnes
lbarnes@vt.edu
540-745-9307
Prince William TBA Thomas Bolles
tpbolles@vt.edu
703-792-4037
Roanoke TBA Kim Butterfield
mskimb8@exchange.vt.edu
540-772-7524
Botetourt TBA Kate Lawrence
mcl87@vt.edu
540-473-8260

Grayson TBA Kevin Spurlin
276-773-2491
spurlink@vt.edu

Carroll TBA Steve Pottorff
276-730-3113
pottorff@vt.edu

Wythe TBA Sandy Stoneman
276-223-6043
sandyst@vt.edu

Lunenburg TBA Lindy Fimon
434-696-5526
tucker07@vt.edu

Charlotte TBA Joanne Jones
jojenki1@vt.edu
434-542-5884
Appomattox TBA Bruce Jones
(434) 352-8244
brjones4@vt.edu

Halifax TBA Rebekah Slabach
(434) 476-2147
rslabach@vt.edu

Greensville/Emporia TBA Sara Rutherford
sriggan@vt.edu
434-348-4223

Loudoun TBA Stuart Vermaak
svermaak@vt.edu
703-737-8978
Pulaski TBA Morgan Paulette
paulette@vt.edu
540-980-7761
Giles TBA Jeannie Dudding
jdudding@vt.edu
540-921-3455
Bland TBA Hunter Romano
romano@vt.edu
276-688-3542
Gloucester
Middlesex
Mathews
TBA Glenn Sturm
gjsturm@vt.edu
804-693-2602
Virginia Beach TBA Andrea Davis
ADavis@vbgov.com
757-385-4769
Albemarle TBA Carrie Swanson
horse@vt.edu
434-872-4580
Nelson TBA Lucinda MacRae
(434) 263-7180
lmacrae@vt.edu
Henrico TBA Ed Olson
edo@vt.edu
804-501-5160
Hanover TBA Laura Maxey-Nay
lmaxey-nay@vt.edu
804-752-4310
Surry TBA KaNisha Artis
(757) 294-5217
kanishaa@vt.edu

Northern Shenandoah:

Frederick, Shenandoah, Page, Warren, and Clarke

June 17
June 24

Vanessa Santiago
(540) 665-5699
vsantiago@vt.edu

Caroline August 12 Mike Broaddus
broaddus@vt.edu
804-633-6550
King George August 12 Mike Broaddus
broaddus@vt.edu
540-775-3062
Spotsylvania August 12 April Payne
arpayne@vt.edu
540-507-7570
Stafford August 12 Guy Mussey
gmussey@vt.edu
540-658-8000
Franklin August 19 Cynthia Martel
cmartel@vt.edu
540-483-5161

Henry August 19 Melanie Barrow
mwbarrow@vt.edu
276-634-4650
Pittsylvania August 19 Carol Haynes
(540) 483-5161
haynes04@vt.edu

Wise August 26 Phil Meeks
pmeeks@vt.edu
276-328-6194
Lee August 26 Amy Fannon
afannon@vt.edu
276-546-2057

Bedford
Amherst

September 9 Scott Baker
(540) 586-7675
scbaker@vt.edu

Lynchburg September 9 Kevin Camm
(434) 455-3742
kecamm@vt.edu
Campbell September 9 Todd Scott
434-332-9538
todds08@vt.edu

Fairfax September 16 Adria Bordas
abordas@vt.edu
703-324-5369
Goochland September 23 Bob Whitehead
whitehd5@vt.edu
804-556-5868
Powhatan September 23 Rachel Henley
rgrosse@vt.edu
804-556-5872
Amelia September 30 Jane Henderson
(804) 561-2481
johns59@vt.edu

Chesterfield September 30 Sierra Seekford
asierra@vt.edu
804-751-4401
Nottoway September 30
Haley Norton
hmccann@vt.edu

434-645-9315 ext. 222

Petersburg September 30 Jaelyn Munson
804-733-1880
ajmunson@vt.edu

Northumberland October 7 Trent Jones
(804) 580-5694
jonesrt@vt.edu

Richmond October 7 Wendy Herdman
(804) 333-3420
wherdman@vt.edu

Lancaster October 7 Trent Jones
(804) 462-5780
jonesrt@vt.edu

Westmoreland October 7 Stephanie Romelczyk
(804) 493-8924
sromelcz@vt.edu

Culpeper
Rappahannock
Fauquier

October 14 Becky Gartner
540-727-3435 x. 344
rebes13@vt.edu

Contact us today to register!

If you are a person with a disability and desire any assistive devices, services or other accommodations to participate in any of these activities, please contact the individual listed above, or Erin Ling at 540-231-9058, or TDD* during business hours of 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. to discuss accommodations 5 days prior to the event.

*TDD number is (800) 828-1120