Water Tips and Facts

In 52 counties, the number of households using private wells is increasing faster than the number connecting to public systems.

Upcoming Events

Event Date and Time Location Contact
Virginia Well Owner Network AGENT Training February 27, 2020

Albemarle County Office Bldg
Room A
1600 5th St Ext.
Charlottesville, VA

Erin Ling
wellwater@vt.edu
540-231-9058

2020 Drinking Water Clinics

Clinics run from February - November each year, and are held in about 60 counties. Visit here for a description of clinics. Contact your local Extension office to express interest in a clinic. Please pre-register with the appropriate contact person.

Important note regarding COVID-19: Virginia Cooperative Extension is currently operating under Phase 3 guidelines, which includes limiting in-person meetings, requiring physical distancing and requiring participants and Virginia Tech faculty and staff to wear face coverings. Please email wellwater@vt.edu with any questions, assistance finding a private lab (list available here ) or help interpreting water test results. Thank you!

Event Sample collection date Contact

Fluvanna

February 26 Kim Mayo
kmayo@vt.edu
434-591-1950
Suffolk
Chesapeake
August 5 Watson Lawrence
malawre3@vt.edu
757-382-6348
Surry August 5 Tye Blount
(757) 294-5215
tye91@vt.edu

Caroline August 12 Mike Broaddus
broaddus@vt.edu
804-633-6550
King George August 12 Mike Broaddus
broaddus@vt.edu
540-775-3062
Spotsylvania August 12 April Payne
arpayne@vt.edu
540-507-7570
Stafford August 12 Guy Mussey
gmussey@vt.edu
540-658-8000
Fredericksburg August 12 Mikel Manchester
mamanchester@vt.edu
540-658-8000
Franklin August 19 Cynthia Martel
cmartel@vt.edu
540-483-5161

Henry August 19 Melanie Barrow
mwbarrow@vt.edu
276-634-4650
Pittsylvania August 19 Carol Haynes
(540) 483-5161
haynes04@vt.edu

Roanoke August 19 Kim Butterfield
mskimb8@exchange.vt.edu
540-772-7524
Botetourt August 19 Kate Lawrence
mcl87@vt.edu
540-473-8260

Floyd August 26 Dawn Barnes
lbarnes@vt.edu
540-745-9307
Wise August 26 Phil Meeks
pmeeks@vt.edu
276-328-6194
Lee August 26 Amy Fannon
afannon@vt.edu
276-546-2057
Prince William September 2 Thomas Bolles
tpbolles@vt.edu
703-792-4037
Gloucester
Middlesex
Mathews
September 9 Glenn Sturm
gjsturm@vt.edu
804-693-2602

Bedford
Amherst

September 9 Scott Baker
(540) 586-7675
scbaker@vt.edu

Lynchburg September 9 Karen Tanner
(434) 946-9365
karent76@vt.edu
Campbell September 9 Todd Scott
434-332-9538
todds08@vt.edu

Fairfax September 16 Adria Bordas
abordas@vt.edu
703-324-5369
Loudoun September 16 Stuart Vermaak
svermaak@vt.edu
703-737-8978
Henrico September 23 Ed Olson
edo@vt.edu
804-501-5160
Hanover September 23 Laura Maxey-Nay
lmaxey-nay@vt.edu
804-752-4310
Goochland September 23 Bob Whitehead
whitehd5@vt.edu
804-556-5868
Powhatan September 23 Rachel Henley
rgrosse@vt.edu
804-556-5872
Nottoway September 23
Haley Norton
hmccann@vt.edu

434-645-9315 ext. 222

Amelia September 30 Jane Henderson
(804) 561-2481
johns59@vt.edu

Chesterfield September 30 Sierra Seekford
asierra@vt.edu
804-751-4401
Petersburg September 30 Jaelyn Munson
804-733-1880
ajmunson@vt.edu

Nelson October 7 Lucinda MacRae
(434) 263-7180
lmacrae@vt.edu
Northumberland October 7 Trent Jones
(804) 580-5694
jonesrt@vt.edu

Richmond County October 7 Wendy Herdman
(804) 333-3420
wherdman@vt.edu

Lancaster October 7 Trent Jones
(804) 462-5780
jonesrt@vt.edu

Westmoreland October 7 Stephanie Romelczyk
(804) 493-8924
sromelcz@vt.edu

Culpeper
Rappahannock
Fauquier

October 14 Becky Gartner
540-727-3435 x. 344
rebes13@vt.edu

Albemarle October 14 Carrie Swanson
horse@vt.edu
434-872-4580

Northern Shenandoah:

Frederick, Shenandoah, Page, Warren, and Clarke

October 21

October 28

Vanessa Santiago
(540) 665-5699
vsantiago@vt.edu

Craig November 4 Sally Farrell
sfarrell@vt.edu
540-864-5812
Montgomery November 4
Erin Ling
wellwater@vt.edu
540-231-9058

Pulaski November 4 Morgan Paulette
paulette@vt.edu
540-980-7761
Giles November 4 Jeannie Dudding
jdudding@vt.edu
540-921-3455
Bland November 4 Hunter Romano
romano@vt.edu
276-688-3542
Grayson November 11 Kevin Spurlin
276-773-2491
spurlink@vt.edu

Carroll November 11 Steve Pottorff
276-730-3113
pottorff@vt.edu

Wythe November 11 Sandy Stoneman
276-223-6043
sandyst@vt.edu

Lunenburg November 18 Lindy Fimon
434-696-5526
tucker07@vt.edu

Charlotte November 18 Joanne Jones
jojenki1@vt.edu
434-542-5884
Appomattox November 18 Bruce Jones
(434) 352-8244
brjones4@vt.edu

Halifax November 18 Rebekah Slabach
(434) 476-2147
rslabach@vt.edu

Greensville/Emporia November 18 Sara Rutherford
sriggan@vt.edu
434-348-4223

Contact us today to register!

If you are a person with a disability and desire any assistive devices, services or other accommodations to participate in any of these activities, please contact the individual listed above, or Erin Ling at 540-231-9058, or TDD* during business hours of 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. to discuss accommodations 5 days prior to the event.

*TDD number is (800) 828-1120